

Minutes of the General Assembly of the European Society for Muscle Research held on the 8th of September 2019 at the XLVIII European Muscle Conference, in Canterbury, United Kingdom.

§1 The chairman of the European Society for Muscle Research (ESMR), Prof Wolfgang Linke, welcomed the assembly to the meeting and explained the nature of the ESMR as well as its relationship to the European Muscle Conferences. He expressed gratitude to Dr Elisabeth Ehler and Prof Mike Geeves and their colleagues for organizing a successful meeting. He also informed the assembly of the passing of Prof Marcus Schaub, one of the founding fathers of our society.

§2 Prof Linke proposed Dr Elisabeth Ehler to be appointed to take the minutes of the General Assembly. Prof Mihály Kovács was appointed as accountant on minutes.

This was **agreed** by the Assembly.

§3 The members of the Board of the Society during 2018/19 were presented: Wolfgang Linke, Chair, University of Münster, Germany (elected 2017)
Anders Arner, Treasurer, Lund University, Sweden (2017)
Steven Marston, Secretary, Imperial College School of Medicine, London, UK (2017)
Laurence Stevens, Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille, France (2017)
Kristina Djinović -Carugo, University of Vienna, Austria (2018)
Marcus C. Schaub, University of Zurich, Switzerland (2017) †October 30, 2018
Elisabeth Ehler, King's College London, UK (2018)
Chiara Tesi, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy (2018)
Maria Jolanta Redowicz, Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology, Warsaw, Poland (2015)

§4 The minutes of the previous meeting in Budapest 2018 (keeper of the minutes: Prof Anders Arner; accountant: Prof Laszlo Csernoch) had been available at the Society homepage (www.esmr.org). No further comments were made and the minutes **were approved**.

§5 Prof Linke reported on the activities of the board.

Since Sept 2012, the ESMR has been registered as a charitable organization ("ideell förening") in Sweden (Organizational number 802467-4528) and a bank account has been opened to keep the Society funds. The funds are kept in Swedish crowns (SEK). In Sept 2019, 100 SEK is about 9,31 EUR.

The economical statement of 2018/19 was presented. The Society funds originate from membership fees. At the end of the previous fiscal year, society funds were 316,556.07 SEK (June 29th, 2018). During the last fiscal year, the society has received membership fees from the 2018 meeting in Budapest, Hungary (1,890.00 EUR = 19,408.77 SEK). Funds have increased to 335,964.84 SEK, or about 31,292 EUR (July 31st, 2019). The society had not had any expenses from the ESMR accounts. Tax declarations have been filed. The auditors (Prof Alf Månsson and Prof Carlo Reggiani, elected 2018) had reviewed the economical statement and had no objections.

This Assembly **granted discharge of liability** for the Board.

The annual membership fee was decided to be 10 EUR/year, paid by meeting delegates as a part of the registration fee. The assembly approved that part of the membership fees are used to support young scientist symposia.

Prof Wolfgang Linke then reported that he is still battling with the legal authorities to register the ESMR in Germany as "eingetragener Verein" and to open a bank account on behalf of the Society and Anders Arner to terminate the registration as charitable organization in Sweden, close the bank account, transfer the Society resources to the bank account in Germany and make final tax declarations. The assembly decided that Wolfgang Linke and Anders Arner can independently sign for the Society regarding these matters.

§6 Elections, Members of the ESMR board

Prof **Jolanta Redowicz**, Nencki Inst. of Experimental Biol., Warsaw, Poland (last reelection 2015) was proposed for re-election for another 4 years. The proposal was approved by the assembly.

Prof **Coen Ottenheijm**, Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, was proposed as a new ESMR board member. The proposal was approved by the assembly.

Jolanta Redowicz and Coen Ottenheijm (re-)join the ESMR board additionally including Wolfgang Linke, Univ. Münster, Germany (elected 2017), Anders Arner, Lund University, Sweden (elected 2017), Steven Marston, Imperial College School of Medicine, London, UK (elected 2017), Laurence Stevens, Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille, France (elected 2017), Kristina Djinović -Carugo, University of Vienna, Austria (elected 2018), Elisabeth Ehler, King's College London, UK (elected 2018), and Chiara Tesi, Università degli Studi di Firenze, Florence, Italy (elected 2018).

§7. Profs Martina Krüger (Germany) and Prof Stefan Galler (Austria) were elected auditor and deputy auditor for 2019/20.

- §8. Prof Mathias Gautel presented the activities of the JMRCM.
- §9. Prof Paula Tavares gave a presentation on behalf of the Portuguese Society for Myology.
- §10. No other issues were raised.
- §11. The plans for the annual meeting 2020 to take place from 18-21 September in Prague, Czech Republic were presented by Dr Jitka Zurmanova. Dr Chiara Tesi was asked to make plans together with Dr Marco Linari and Dr Barbara Colombini for the meeting in 2021 in Florence, Italy (scheduled 4-8 September).

The Assembly was closed.

Chiefel Chler
Dr Elisabeth Ehler

Date 1 October 2019

Dr. Mihály Kovács

Date 1 October 2019